Music – old


Click on the album covers to see details, listen and buy!
If you prefer to purchase by mail send check or money order for total amount to:
Kitty Donohoe  PO Box 3070,  Ann Arbor, Michigan 48106.

$15.00 (plus $3.00 s/h)

    1. Come On Girls
    1. When I Was the Queen
    2. Pierre and Marie
    3. Dangerous Boys-O
    4. Winter Dark
    1. Kid With a Gun
    2. 100% Chance of the Blues
    1. Shady Grove
    2. There Are No Words
    3. Every Small Thing
Northern Border” is my 4th songwriter CD (not including an all-Michigan family project). The title has more to do with a feel than an actual songwriting theme. Living a stone’s throw from the Canadian border, my music is strongly inflected with the accordions, fiddles, and pipes that are common sounds in their music, as well as being an inherent sound from my Irish heritage.There’s a moodiness sometimes, questioning, exuberance, earthiness…all of the elements that define us as humans! I have some great guest artists on this release, such as Jan Krist and Claudia Schmidt, Tyler Duncan, Jeff Taylor and others. Not to mention David Mosher – producer, friend, and “uber-musician”.”Recommended” Dirty Linen“A remarkable recording.” Sing Out!

“I had to put down my work and email you pronto to say what a fabulous album it is… a word I rarely use.” Folk on the Fringe, Australia

“…a great work of art.”

“excellent new album …” Lilli Kuzma-Folk Festival, WDCB Radio

“This is Michigan singer-songwriter Kitty Donohoe’s 4th album and probably her most important yet. Kitty is of Irish American descent and so it’s no surprise she has a strong Irish feel in her songs, but they are not all about Ireland. On the contrary, she takes the inspirations for her songs from everyday life in America today. Kitty’s songs are well written, and needless to say she sings like an angel.” Greenman Review, UK

$15.00 (plus $3.00 s/h)

    1. No One on this Road
    1. Jack of All Trades
    2. Thought I Knew
    1. Jiggle the Handle
    2. Do What You Love
    1. An Meid Raite
    1. A Murder of Crows
    2. Howling at the Moon
    3. Singing My Song
    4. Inisheer
  1. Bon Voyage
  2. Breathing
Produced by Kitty and David Mosher, the album is the result of a collection of songs written by Kitty during a long hiatus from recording. As ever, Kitty draws on her Irish heritage musically and uses a healthy dose of uilleann pipes, whistles and accordion in addition to guitars, bass and keyboard to back her up on all 12 original songs and tunes. Stepping a little farther afield than on past projects, Kitty and David integrated some unusual percussion to bring a novel feel to a couple of the cuts.“One thing that hasn’t changed in her time off is her voice; it’s as rich and compelling as ever. She has an amazing range with a flexibility that few other singers have. Donohoe’s songwriting is even stronger than it was before…” Dirty Linen“beautifully produced, well written and expertly played” Sing Out!

“intelligent, literate songwriting infused with an inherent optimism.” Tweeddale Press Ltd, England

“exceptional…the look and feel of a masterpiece.” City Pulse

$15.00 (plus $3.00 s/h)

  1. Chester City
  2. Steady as a River
  3. Give in to the Blues
  4. Thin Ice
  5. Look for the Light
  6. Autumn Dance
  7. Seasons of the Heart
  8. Emma Sutter
  9. Angelo’s
  10. North Country
  11. Blue Collar Poet
  12. To America

Sorry this CD is temporarily out of stock. Digital download available at CD Baby! Click here

A collection of 10 original songs, plus one by songwriter Dick Siegel and one traditional Irish song, this album was co-produced by Kitty and Joel Mabus. Instruments such as Scottish bagpipes, cittern, and fiddle lend a Celtic feel to a lot of the songs.”…one of the best albums I’ve ever heard.” Fast Folk Musical Magazine“…an excellent collection of songs…” Dirty Linen

“Ms. Donohoe weaves a spell here…” Sing Out!

$15.00 (plus $3.00 s/h)

  1. Romancin’ My Man
  2. Praying for Rain
  3. Turn Your Money Green
  4. The Brisk Young Butcher
  5. Evangeline’s
  6. Make My Bed Mother
  7. When the West Wind Blows
  8. Callie’s Jig
  9. The Mistletoe Bough
  10. The Cheater
  11. Farmer in Florida
Kitty’s first album was produced by Michigan musician Joel Mabus and includes beautiful performances by many of the areas most talented players, including Peter Madcat Ruth, Chris Rietz and Peter Dominguez. A bit more traditional sounding than her subsequent recordings, “Farmer in Florida” is considered “a classic” work by many of her fans and showcases her diverse songwriting.”an exceptional first album…” Sing Out!“Kitty’s singing [is] rich, flexible, soaring, haunting…one of those rare voices.” Victory Music Review

$15.00 (plus $3.00 s/h)

    1. Michigan Gals
    2. Voyageurs
    3. Roll Loggers Roll
    1. Jack Haggerty
    1. Rivers
    2. Michigan ABC
    3. Maple Syrup
    4. Pierre and Marie
    1. Louie Sands and Jim McGee
    2. Wheels
    3. Red Iron Ore
    4. Great Lakes Lights
  1. Sisters of the Lights
  2. I Never Will Sail
  3. Ode to the Pasty
  4. Michigan Waltz
  5. Mackinac Bridge/St. Anne’s Reel (unabridged)
In 1987 had a Sesquicentennial (150th birthday) and I had just started working in elementary schools so I could stay off the road and be with my family. I put together a collection of mostly-original songs about Michigan, put out the word, and started working two schools a day, 5 days a week, month after month for a couple of years – whew! Even after all of this time I hear from people who remember the songs, sing them to their kids, teach them in their classes…I had no idea they’d have that legacy and as a songwriter I’m very happy about that. It’s very folksy in style, with subjects about rivers, lumberjacks, pasties…and in 2004 I added 5 new songs to it (4 original, 1 traditional) and released it as a CD.Now Available in Book & CD Packet!Bunyan & Banjoes Book & CD PackageThe original version of ‘Bunyan and Banjoes’ came out as a tape with an optional corresponding book. Still in print, the book contains all of the Michigan songs charted out, plus recipes, games and information. This version of the book has an inside cover pocket that contains music sheets of the 5 songs added to the CD in 2004. So both CD and book are completely updated! Buy now for $17.95 (plus $3.00 s/h)

I’ve never submitted ‘Bunyan and Banjoes’ for review but have heard from people for decades who love it.

Some comments…

“Excellent and fun!” “Outstanding!”

“Good Michigan history.”

“Loads of information.”

“Really resonates with my Michigan roots.”